Suite n°4

For the final installment in its series of Suites, l’Encyclopédie de la parole has chosen to make you hear the raw material that provides the basis for its performances: the recorded voices of its sound collection.

No longer is it actors that give life to lost voices, but the speakers themselves who return from the past to speak with their own voices, their original melody, their unique tone, their own breath.

Set to music by Sébastien Roux, the words sound out from the stage, carrying with them spaces, images, situations, frictions, blocs of tension or emotion, major or insignificant events – a thousand living details captured by the recording, played once again for us.

As in opera, the voices are supported, carried, transported by the instrumental accompaniment: performed by seven musicians, Pierre-Yves Macé’s score shifts our listening to reveal hidden textures. Blending the acoustic and the electric, displaying unusual combinations of timbres, the composition exacerbates perception and gives rise to emotions that are literally beyond words.

A kind of theatre of spirits then, but with living ghosts who speak, whisper, shout, address, laugh, converse, count, recount, explain, preach and console, rage and encourage, desire and regret, pray and give thanks, dance and suffer and live and do not want to die.

By focusing on the minute and infinite modulations of human speech, Suite No. 4 is a celebration of the most lively and the most fleeting: a way for “the music of dear voices heard no more” to ring out for one last time.


Conception Encyclopédie de la parole & Ictus
Composition (dramaturgy) Joris Lacoste
Composition (instrumental music) Pierre-Yves Macé
Composition (electro-acoustic music) Sébastien Roux
Direction Joris Lacoste

Hugo Abraham (double bass)
Tom De Cock (micro-percussion, vibraphone, timpani)
Chryssi Dimitriou (double bass flute, bass flute, G flute), Annie Lavoisier (harp)
Luca Piovesan (accordion)
Jean-Luc Plouvier (electronic keyboard)
Eva Reiter (Paetzold flute, viola da gamba)
Primož Sukič (electric guitar, acoustic guitar)

Audio document collectors Julie Etienne, Joris Lacoste, Oscar Lozano Pérez, Nicolas Rollet and Elise Simonet
Sound Alexandre Fostier
Light design and scenography Florian Leduc
Graphic design and video Oscar Lozano Pérez
Artistic collaboration Oscar Lozano Pérez, Nicolas Rollet and Elise Simonet

Production Echelle 1:1 (compagnie conventionnée par le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication / DRAC Île-de-France et par le Conseil régional d’île-de-France) / Ictus (ensemble soutenu par la Commission Européenne, la Communauté Flamande – Vlaamse Overheid et Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommisie)
Coproduction en cours Festival d’automne à Paris, MC93 Bobigny, KunstenFestivalDesArts, Wiener Festwochen, Théâtre National de Strasbourg, Le Quartz – Scène Nationale de Brest, Teatro Municipal do Porto…